RSS

Make The Web Work For You – Workflow reflection

28 May

I check my work Twitter feed once a day during school recess. I have a personal (professional) Twitter account but I rarely use it as I find it too overwhelming, there’s always so much to read/look at when I do check it.

I usually check Facebook in the afternoon/evening when I have time and I get a lot of links/articles to read through there but if I don’t have the opportunity to read them there and then, I rarely would come back to them and only occasionally try to remind myself. I would usually send myself an email with any links I think I should read later, however these often sit in my inbox unread. I think that social bookmarking would definitely be a better way of storing these links but I am still unsure if I would ever come back to them at a later date.

I bookmark my most regularly used websites in my browser at work but usually have a few extra bookmarks that I don’t come back to.

At work I get some email digests of relevant articles, and I try to find the time during the day to get through these. I find that I don’t have a lot of extra time to be checking for new information online so I like getting email digests so that I can filter out what’s interesting, and I prefer things delivered to me rather than having to remember to check things. When I need to remember to do something at a particular time, I set up calendar reminders to pop up with a message.

My husband regularly suggests that I get an iphone next time I upgrade my phone so that I can sync my calendar with his but I find that my home paper calendar is much more visually graspable, especially when dealing with the schedules of my two primary school children as well as my own. I also keep my work to-do list on paper at my desk as I don’t really need it to be mobile and I prefer it visually.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 28, 2015 in Make The Web Work For You

 

One response to “Make The Web Work For You – Workflow reflection

  1. vicpln

    May 28, 2015 at 5:03 pm

    Thanks for sharing with us your work flow. Because you’re already an online user, you’ll no doubt will explore other new tools to make life that little bit easier…
    Best wishes
    Yen
    (on behalf of the team)

     

Leave a Reply

 
