RSS

Make The Web Work For You – Research Project

30 Apr

I have been having trouble deciding on what to focus on as my research project, I’ve had so many things running through my head. I think a good plan will be to keep the topic broad, which will give me a chance to narrow the focus as I go. My topic is going to be current trends in libraries for teen customers. So for example it might be looking at makerspaces or zine workshops. I’ll be looking at these kinds of things from both the public library and school library perspectives. It seems like there’s often lots of interesting things going on in libraries around the world for teens, so I think it’d be great to focus on getting a bit more up-to-date and see how these ideas might translate to the libraries I work in. I sometimes come across this kind of information from newsletters, Twitter, Facebook and blogs but it’s pretty random at the moment. I think if I were to start researching this, I’d probably take a look at some library blogs that I’ve seen before, maybe try a general Google search and also try to find some more formal articles such as through journals, for example through ALIA or open-source.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2015 in Make The Web Work For You

 

4 responses to “Make The Web Work For You – Research Project

  1. vicpln

    April 30, 2015 at 4:59 pm

    Sounds great Kara. Starting broad is good, and it’s only when you start researching that you find a whole smorgasbord new elements to choose from.
    Best wishes
    Yen
    (on behalf of the team)

     
  2. langelon

    June 10, 2015 at 4:13 pm

    I know you’ve moved on to other modules but I was wondering if you had done the Lotus diagram? I can’t seem to find it. We go through how to use it to develop your project topic here – http://workforyou.slv.vic.gov.au/module-1/your-project/
    Let me know.
    Linda

     
    • librarysnoozer

      June 22, 2015 at 11:30 am

      Hi Linda

      When you mentioned this I realised that I had not done the Lotus diagram back when they were introduced, but I realised that it fit perfectly into organising my thoughts for my final project. So I have done my diagram based on my final project and I will post the link to that in my final project post.

      Kara

       
      • langelon

        July 15, 2015 at 1:34 pm

        That’s great Kara. I’ll keep an eye open for it.
        Linda

         

Leave a Reply

 
