RSS

The sadness of waiting for the next book…

23 Aug

I just finished reading a book today. Not only was I really sad to finish the book because I was really enjoying it, was really empathising with the characters, and was desperate to find out what was going to happen, I then encountered the double whammy of realising only on finishing the book that it was the first book in a trilogy. Everything was left open, nothing was resolved, it was the classic cliffhanger ending. To add insult to injury I then found out that the second book has not been released yet. *SIGH* Maybe it’s my recent interest in teen fiction or the fact I have been wallowing in my predilection for post-apocalyptic/dystopian stories but I’ve had this happen a few times lately. I guess these authors have a lot to say, and they are not sure if a teenage audience will be willing to commit to it all in one go. I suppose it at least gives me something to look forward to but by the time the follow-up books come out I’ll probably be so confused by the storylines of all the books I’ve been reading with their obligatory love triangles I’ll have to go back and re-read the original books. It’s so a sign of the times that I often yearn to be able to press control+F while reading.

The book I was reading by the way is Ashes by Ilsa F. Bick. In the story, an EMP (electromagnetic pulse) is activated killing all electronic equipment and almost all the people, sparing only the very young and very old. Teenagers however (with a few exceptions) are turned into zombie-like cannibals and the few young people who are still normal must try to make sense of a world without civilisation as everybody fights to stay alive. I’m not sure what it says about me that I love these kinds of stories, maybe I’m just in preparation for the zombie apocalypse.

Other books I am waiting on are Glow by Amy Kathleen Ryan and the next in George R. R. Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series (but I think I’ll be waiting a long time for that one….)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
